Description from the publisher
By 1801, the Island of Puerto Rico was under spanish control and the frequent threats of attacks from pirates and other countries forced the construction of a watch post at the top of a hill, to the north of the city of Ponce. On this site a small watch house was built and to its side a cross that was used to raise the flag of any incoming ship. That way, local commerce could be advised of the arrival of ships and the authorities could prevent possible attacks. The "El Vigía" hill (or "the Watch") was a vital part of the life of all ponceños. In 1738 it served as a refuge during a terrible storm, and in 1787 it served as a safe haven after a earthquake on that year. In recent years, a new structure was built on that same place to commemorate that small "bohío" house that served as watch and protector of the people of the city of Ponce. The new cross, with a height of around 100 feet, raises to almost 300 feet above sea-level, offering a breathtaking view of the city of Ponce and the Ponce harbor below.
"La Cruceta "
Enjoyed the spectacular view and the Japanese Garden. A great place to take picture.